Eligibility criteria

The following eligibility criteria are required:

  • Candidates should be a member of ESHRE. If they are not a member of ESHRE, they will
    have to pay an extra amount of 100 euros in their registration fee for each part of the
    Examination (Part 1 and Part 2).
  • Candidates should be graduates of a Medical School. They should also be Obstetricians
    and Gynaecologists. They must have been registered as Obstetricians and Gynaecologists in
    their own country or in the country in which they work.
  • Candidates form outside the European Union and its associated countries should have
    previously passed the EFOG‐EBCOG examination
  • All candidates who have passed successfully the EBCOG examination (EFOG‐EBCOG)
    before applying for the ESHRE/EBCOG examination, have gained a credit equaling a 10%
    increase of their average score in both papers of the ESHRE/EBCOG examination.
  • Candidates can sit the exams after they have completed at least 2 years of clinical and
    laboratory training in Reproductive Medicine according to the ESHRE subspecialist training
    programme, demonstrated by their personal training logbook. It is evident that the training
    ends after they have become Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. Participation in research is
    mandatory, either as a third year research activity or as at least two publications in peer review
    journals first or second author.
  • Training in Reproductive Medicine should have been provided to the candidates in an
    ESHRE/EBCOG recognized training unit or in a unit recognized for higher training in
    Reproductive Medicine by the countries’ authorities.
  • Candidates of countries in which the subspecialty of Reproductive Medicine has not
    been recognized can only sit the exams if they provide proof that they have been trained for at
    least 2 years according to ESHRE subspecialist training programme. They should also have a log
  • Candidates must provide evidence of good standing from their Medical Regulatory
    Body, Employing Authority or their Head of Department.