The European Union

In the European Union there are 3 main institutions involved in EU legislation:


  • the European Parliament, which represents the EU’s citizens and is directly elected by them.

  • the Council of the European Union, which represents the governments of the individual member countries. The Presidency of the Council is shared by the member states on a rotating basis.

  • the European Commission, which represents the interests of the Union as a whole.


Together, these three institutions produce through the "Ordinary Legislative Procedure" the policies and laws that apply throughout the EU. In principle, the Commission proposes new laws, and the Parliament and Council adopt them. The Commission and the member countries then implement them, and the Commission ensures that the laws are properly applied and implemented.

DG Santé

DG SANTE (Directorate General for Health and Food Safety) develops and carries out the Commission's policies on Public Health and Food safety - Substances of Human Origin (SoHO).


The EU tissue and cells directives (known as EUTCD) have established the standards that must be met in any activity involving tissues and cells for human applications, including gametes, embryos and germinal tissue. The directives also require full traceability of tissues and cells used in human applications from donors to recipients and vice versa.