Share this page

20. Miscellaneous

20.1 Travel and accommodation
Individuals whose travel costs are covered by ESHRE are expected to exercise good judgment in incurring travel expenses, and obtain prior approval for specified expenditures.

Airline/train tickets
Ideally, all airline and train reservations should be made through the ESHRE Central Office in collaboration with the official travel agent.

Traveller profile
All individuals whose travel costs are covered by ESHRE are requested to complete a travel form and send it to the Central Office/official travel agent. This is to ensure that pertinent details are adhered to in the reservation process. This includes correct spelling of traveller’s name (unless already known) and frequent flyer memberships. The traveller is responsible for communicating all personal travel information changes.

Lowest airfare definition
The general rule is that within Europe all Committee members and other individuals whose travel costs are covered by ESHRE travel only in economy class. The lowest possible fare should be considered as a first option. Requests involving air travel should be made as soon as possible to facilitate obtaining the lowest fares.


Upgrades at the expense and without the knowledge of the ESHRE Central Office are not permitted.

Frequent flyer programmes
Travellers may retain frequent flyer programme benefits. However, participation in these programmes may not influence flight selection, which could result in incremental cost to ESHRE with regard to the airfare.

Long-haul and ultra long-haul flights
Long-haul flights (6 to 12 hours often non-stop) and Ultra long-haul flight (over 12 hours) can be booked in premium economy class, and if not available in business class following formal approval by the Central Office.

Visa and passports
Travellers are responsible for obtaining all necessary documents, such as passport, visa and/or vaccinations. If travel for ESHRE requires a passport, which you were not planning to obtain for personal travel, ESHRE will refund the expenses. The travel agent can secure full visa if required for travellers residing in Belgium.

Travel reimbursement
To be reimbursed for authorized travel expenses, travellers must complete an expense claim form including the original invoices/receipts. Requests for reimbursement must be approved by the appropriate signature authority.

Expense claims should be submitted as soon as possible following the travel. Every effort must be made to submit expense claims in a timely manner. Submitting incomplete or late claims will delay reimbursement. 


20.2 Committee/Business meetings
As a rule, committee/business meetings should be held in Brussels since most members would need to come from different countries across Europe most of the time. In case there would be any special reason (e.g. when most participants would come from one particular country, or when meetings can be held in conjunction with other meetings), the meeting could be held elsewhere.

Travel costs for committee/business meetings should be reasonable and in line with the aims and purposes for which such meetings are organised and for the contribution of its participants in such meetings. Short meetings or short presentations at meetings are better dealt with by conference calls or other virtual ways of communication.


20.3 Relationship with other legally recognised not-for-profit organisations / societies
Generally, ESHRE will maintain friendly relations with other Societies considering the principle of good ethical behaviour and the interests of the Society. Such societies or organisations should have legal recognition and should be able to submit bylaws.

In case there are requests to promote events or meetings by other societies/organisations then these can be added to the website (non-ESHRE) events calendar. Requests to circulate/disseminate research surveys should be handled by the relevant Special Interest Group(s). If the Special Interest Group(s) endorse(s) the study, a mailing can be conducted.


20.4 Europe as defined by ESHRE
The following countries, members of the Council of Europe, were defined as “belonging to” Europe. In most instances these countries are signatories of the Oviedo Convention. 

  1. Albania
  2. Andorra
  3. Armenia
  4. Austria
  5. Azerbaijan
  6. Belgium
  7. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  8. Bulgaria
  9. Croatia
  10. Cyprus
  11. Czech Republic
  12. Denmark
  13. Estonia
  14. Finland
  15. France
  16. Georgia
  17. Germany
  18. Greece
  19. Hungary
  20. Iceland
  21. Ireland
  22. Italy
  23. Latvia
  24. Liechtenstein
  25. Lithuania 
  26. Luxembourg
  27. Macedonia
  (The former Yugoslav Republic of)
  28. Malta
  29. Moldova (Republic of )
  30. Monaco
  31. Montenegro
  32. Netherlands
  33. Norway
  34. Poland
  35. Portugal
  36. Romania
  37. Russian Federation
  38. San Marino
  39. Serbia
  40. Slovak Republic
  41. Slovenia
  42. Spain
  43. Sweden
  44. Switzerland
  45. Turkey
  46. Ukraine
  47. United Kingdom