Ethics Committee 2017-2019

The mission of the ESHRE Ethics Committee is to examine ethically relevant issues related to reproductive medicine and reproductive science with a (potential) impact on patients, professionals and society as a whole.

The ESHRE Ethics Committee adopts a deliberative approach in their discussion based on ethical principles and fundamental human rights such as equality, non-discrimination, right to private life and family building. In addition, as part of a scientific society, the ESHRE Ethics Committee also discusses topics related to freedom of research, research integrity and responsible innovation. 

The Ethics Committee is a standing committee with an advisory role. The aim of the Ethics Committee is to develop the position of ESHRE and to advise the ESHRE Executive Committee on the issues considered. Outcomes of the Ethics Committee are reports to the ESHRE Executive Committee 

  • Give advice helping to determine the position of ESHRE (on controversial issues)
  • Give advice on legal issues (e.g. patent opposition)
  • Review of applications for the grant: aspects about ethics, not pure scientific aspects
  • Give advice on generic deontological questions dealing with
    - conflicts of interest
    - Industry related questions

Professor Dr Juha Tapanainen
Chairman Ethics Committee

Declaration of interest
Professor Basil C. Tarlatzis
Past Chair Ethics Committee

Valérie Blanchet - De Mouzon
ExCo Representative

Declaration of interest
Dr Arianna D'Angelo

Declaration of interest
Professor Guido De Wert

Dr Cristina Eguizabal
Immediate Past Co-ordinator SIG Stem Cells

Declaration of interest
Mrs Annick Geril
Co-ordinator SIG Nursing and Midwifery

Declaration of interest
Heidi Mertes
Co-ordinator SIG Ethics and Law

Declaration of interest
Satu Rautakallio-Hokkanen
Fertility Europe Representative

Thomas Strowitzki
ExCo Representative

Declaration of interest